Hello World!

This is the generic title they give you for the first post. A convenient one, since I am in effect saying hello to the world of cyberspace. I started this blog to catalog my trials as a recent graduate entering the work force/real world. The inspiration for the title finally hit me over the head with a cast iron frying pan today. I wrote a sonnet to the pink flamingo that lived outside my window this spring:

pink flamingo

From a window seat I covet your gawked form –
your torso’s rippled wings beguile the sun.
I long to be your neon mate – that a storm
would whisk me up so we could fly as one
through scalloped oak leaves, stippled light, in lieu
of Florida swamps, high Andean lakes,
your native land where pink seduces blue.
Unfurl your brittle wings, uproot your stakes
of metal from the dirt! Black eyes and beak
weather on lawns where you rust – a symbol.
But please, wake to your tulipped fate and speak!
O shrewd king of Garden Kitsch, you’d warble,
“I am Nature, pickled in plastic. You cling
to Her for depth, yet I outlast each fling.”
So there it is.

Leave a Reply

